Nominate the 2018 Democracy Award Winner


The online nomination process for the International Foundation for Electoral Systems’ (IFES) 2018 Charles T. Manatt Democracy Award is now open!

The Democracy Award is given annually to three individuals: a Republican, a Democrat, and a member of the international community. Nominations for the international recipient are open to the public and will be accepted through April 6, 2018.

The three Democracy Awards are presented in a single ceremony each year. This year’s event will be held on September 24, 2018, at the Four Seasons Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Submit your nomination

Previous winners include Secretary General of the Organization of American States Luis Almagro (2017), disability rights advocate Nay Lin Soe of Myanmar (2016), former Chairman of Nigeria’s Independent National Electoral Commission Professor Attahiru Jega (2015), Venezuelan opposition leader Maria Corina Machado (2014), former President of Mexico’s National Electoral Institute Leonardo Valdés Zurita (2013), women’s advocate Maimuna Mwidau of Kenya (2012), Judge Johann Kriegler of South Africa (2011), and Lebanese Minister of Interior and Municipalities Ziad Baroud (2010).

Democracy Award recipients embody the character and spirit of the late Charles T. Manatt. Ambassador Manatt served as Chairman of IFES’ Board of Directors from 1993-1999; he was a distinct leader dedicated to promoting democracy around the world and nurturing the next generation of political leaders.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email